Posted in Uncategorized

The Stranger


As I was busying my mind with BF Skinner’s operant conditioning, a mature but still quite handsome man, embarked the bus. Although the seat to my left was vacant he opted for the seat immediately behind the vacant seat. There was something about this man and I thought I could almost feel him reading along with me or at the very least observing me, scribbling notes on the paper from which I read. He didn’t say a word to me until he was almost ready to get off the bus I realized.

In a very pleasant yet strong and manly tone, he asked, “What are you studying?” Whether I pretended not to hear him which I technically didn’t, because I had instead read his lips and therefore knew exactly what he asked, I asked him to repeat the question so I could hear his voice as I coyly removed the ear plug. He asked my name and almost as soon as he heard it he asked if I was born in October. Just as quickly, I asked why, but all he managed to say was, the next time he saw me he will tell me.

Next time? I thought to myself. Will there b a next time? He didn’t ask me for a contact nor offer to leave one. All the information I have is the bus stop he disembarked at. Next time. Seems I was mesmerized for I can’t even remember his name.

Author:

A creative nut with endless possibilities to offer the world. Just need to start with one possibility - my words.

Leave a Reply

