Posted in Poetry

Are You Like Me?


Are you like me?

I get jumpy and jittery when I read about creative liberty.

Are you like me?

When I think about art I get quiet like a child, caught in a store stealing candy.

Are you like me?

My heart starts to race and beat in my chest.

My head starts to ache and it seems I have no rest.

Are you like me?

Wanting to do art but finding it hard to start, or continue

whichever, you don’t know what I’m going through,

or do you?

Are you like me?

Writing my thoughts out, but finding no relief because I’m skirting the truth and failing to believe!

Believe I can do better than all the things that I see,

all the things that I read, all the things I hope to be.

But are you like me, doing nothing at all

because you feel the calling is too great,

the burden to replicate your feelings a test of your faith? 

But could you ever confess to being like me?

Baring all in the open, so vulnerable so broken?

Maybe, just maybe, to be like me would be better…I hope you agree.

Author:

A creative nut with endless possibilities to offer the world. Just need to start with one possibility - my words.

Leave a Reply

