Posted in Poetry

Everything’s Chicken


Inspired by my God-daughter.

After a lovely dinner of roast chicken,
my two year old said, “Yummy mummy chicken”.

The next day I decided to do roast pork
to help her taste buds, to explore.
When dinner was done she smiled and said, 
“Yummy mummy chicken. 
May I please have some bread”  

I must not quit, I’ll try again,
but this time with some fish.
and so with love I prepared the meal
with no bones, this was a big deal.
She licked her fingers, her face a mess
but then she said the words again,
“Yummy mummy chicken.” 
I sighed, I failed the test. 

And then it hit me,
I never failed,
for all the meals I gave, she praised
and so I’ll continue this life of living
for my two year old
who thinks everything’s chicken. 

Author:

A creative nut with endless possibilities to offer the world. Just need to start with one possibility - my words.

Leave a Reply

