Posted in Poetry

Never Work a Day in Your Life.


They say if you do what you love, 
then you will never work a day in your life. 
But they were mistaken.

It’s the hardest I’ve ever had to work, 
to keep myself from this constant hurt,
brought about by my passions,
the things I love the most,
without which it seems I just cannot cope.

Yet,
they are the very reason I keep playing this game,
and though never a dull moment, 
there is always the pain,
to do or die, live free or try forever 
on this endless whirlwind of gain.

I feel better, though, 
that to this pain I am subjected,
for my passions always want me,
so I never feel dejected, 
only by you, and you,
for a lack of understanding 
my heart’s not yours and neither is my passion,
so stop using your head to think with such ration. 

To do what you love, 
may be the hardest but most rewarding thing you’ll ever see. 
So don’t stop trying because it’s against the grain, 
don’t stop believing because of all the rain, 
keep working and turning the tricks of your trade 
because for this very reason, you and I were made.

Author:

A creative nut with endless possibilities to offer the world. Just need to start with one possibility - my words.

Leave a Reply

