Posted in Poetry

Betrayed by Youth


“What school do you attend?” asked a young man of me.
Thinking I might attend one of the colleges in the community
“I don’t attend school”, I answered quite coy
Here we go again once more
My youthful state a distracting bore.

He seemed uneasy as he learnt that I worked
Though I wore a polo shirt and jeans
And comfy sneaks upon my feet
The disappointment rang through as his voice subdued
And in almost a whisper he wished me farewell
So happy he was to leave this place no doubt, I could tell

So I continue to be an attraction to the young
but a distraction to the old
who can’t quite seem to place my face with an age that would encourage or discourage their approach
Poor souls…

Author:

A creative nut with endless possibilities to offer the world. Just need to start with one possibility - my words.

Leave a Reply

